Allegiant

The final book in the well-known and loved Divergent series by Veronica Roth is called Allegiant. It’s the last piece in the story about Tris and Four and their life in the city where they’ve grown up, which is built on five factions. You choose were to belong from the kind of person you are; peaceful, intelligent, truthful, brave, or selfless.

In the last book, Tris Prior has lost more than she could ever imagine at the age of sixteen. She is still on her mission to save the city and the people in it. During the last few months, the city has gone from its normal life, with the factions, the aptitude tests and the Choosing ceremony, to total chaos. After fighting all over the city, the factionless have gain control and the new leader is Evelyn Johnson, Four’s mother whom he believed to be dead up until the second book. After a message from a woman calling herself Edith Prior, which says that when the city has a large enough population of Divergent, they are to be sent out outside the fence which surrounds the city. Evelyn forbids everyone to leave, but together with a group of friends, Tris and Four ventures outside to see what Edith Prior wanted them to look for and to find the truth about the city, the factions and the fence that has kept them in for as long as anyone can remember.

Allegiant is, unlike the previous two books, told from both Tris and Four’s perspective. It took me a little while to get used to it, but after about ten chapters I could only see the change in a positive way. As a reader you understand the character and the choices they make better and even though I thought it felt strange at first, it turned out to be probably the best thing Roth could do. Though some of the mystery of Four disappeared, you got to know him and he is a very interesting character, so yes, the change was only a good thing.

I have longed for this book for nearly a year and I was over the moon when I finally had it in my hands. At first I was sure that I would finish it in just a few days, but the more I read the more I realized that this was it. The last part. There would be no more. So I slowed down so I could enjoy it. It was good, but, I have to say, not as good as I thought it would be. The ending was not quite a surprise, but definitely not something I was extremely excited about. It left me with a very heavy feeling and for a while I just pushed the story and everything about it away. I finished the book days ago, but I haven’t come around to write about it until now.

Maybe it was because I was so excited or maybe because the book didn’t quite live up to my expectations or maybe because I expected my head to be blown off because of its awesomeness or maybe it was because I thought it would be so much more but turned out to be plain, at least when you compare it with the first book (which I absolutely loved), but Allegiant didn’t give me that satisfying feeling. It was just a book, a good book, maybe even a great book, but there was something missing. Something with the end (the end was, really, brilliant, but I still didn’t like it) gave me an uneasy feeling which is still lingering, days after. That, though, is a good thing, but it’s a bit annoying that the good thing is because of an ending I didn’t like.

However, this is the last piece of the story where every secret is revealed and you get to follow the characters on their ride to a better world to live in and it saddens me that it’s over now. If someone would have told me beforehand that I wouldn’t like the ending, I would’ve still read the book and everyone that has followed Tris and Four should. To see what happens and what exists outside the fence. What the truth is.

It’s time for one last choice and one last act of selflessness and bravery.