Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Even though I would like to, I still find it hard, for some reason, to sit down and read classics. It’s sad, really, because classic books got that title for a reason. They are deemed to be brilliant and wonderful and giving something to the reader. I’m not sure why I don’t read more, but I have finished Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland just now and it was quite good, if, a bit, mad.

This story, told and read and seen so many times before, tells the tale of Alice and what happens after she sees a white rabbit in a waistcoat and follows him down a rabbit hole. She meets an endless line of animals and even gets to attend to the Queens Croquet game while trying to figure out what makes a raven like a writing desk. It’s a world where you can grow or shrink by just eating or drinking something and where nothing ever makes sense, but that’s part of the charm.

A funny and slightly crazy tale by Lewis Carroll, this makes for a lovely read. I can see why this is a children’s book, since you can’t lack in imaginative skill when reading it, but I thought it fun to read as a grown-up as well! The language is soft and flowing and the story is filled with riddles and songs and pieces of poetry. It was like stepping into a whole new world where nothing made sense but it didn’t matter, because it was amazing. I found it a delight to read and I will certainly read the sequel!