Blue lily, lily blue

Since I picked up The Raven Boys not even half a year ago, Maggie Stiefvater has had me spellbound in her unique story about witches and sleeping kings and orange Camaro’s. And now, with the third installment, Blue lily, lily blue, I’m more in love than ever before.

With time running out, closer and closer to the death of Richard Gansey the III, Blue and the raven boys search deeper (in all aspects) for the long-lost Glendower and Blue’s mother, Maura. They get on a new trail, hearing about three sleepers, of which one the friends are to awaken and one that Maura shouldn’t wake. But who is the third one and where do you find three sleeping people? And how could anyone be asleep for six hundred years and still be alive? And how close are they of finding Glendower, really? These are the questions the raven boys and Blue are asking themselves in the third installment of The Raven Cycle.

I’ve only read these three books of Maggie Stiefvater, though I know she’s written quite a few more. I do know, however, that she is special and this book series is like nothing I’ve ever read before. We have five very strong characters in Blue, Gansey, Adam, Ronan and Noah. Another three in Blue’s home; Maura, Calla and Persephone. And of course, The Gray man. They are holding up the story, everyone so different and so interesting. They’re all specific in their own way and part of me likes the character and what they bring to the table more than I like the actual story. There’s such big diversity between them and they’re all battling their own wars which shapes them into the people they are today. It’s difficult to create character that feels real, but Stiefvater’s does and that’s one of the things that makes this series so successful. The character growth in Blue lily, lily blue was immense and they’re all starting to shape up to something I like very much. I love seeing how they grow, and the story with them.

Another thing that turns the story from good to great it the language. The prose is lovely, flowy and poetic. There’s a lot of sarcasm that will make you laugh, and snort, and a lot of beautiful sentences that begs to be reread and remembered. It is, in ever aspect, a wonderful spectacle of a series to read!

From cover to cover (and how beautiful aren’t the Raven Cycle covers?) the stories are a jumble of crazy things that shouldn’t fit together, but they do! Five teenagers looking for a sleeping king sounds more than odd but it all works out in the end. It’s fun and something of a circus, but certain parts are very serious. Blue’s feminism is one important aspect, Adam’s abuse from his father is another. Both of them are surrounded by people who have a lot of money and can do whatever they want but they themselves lack it and have to work hard for every little thing. I feel that these things are just as important as the rest, because it isn’t a story about five made-up people who gets everything served on a platter. They work for it and they work hard and hopefully they’re an example to the readers. I know they inspire me to search for something better, something more, for everything I deserve. And that’s a very important thing too.

I could sit here for the rest of the night and praise Stiefvater and her fantastic story, which just seems to get better and better for each book I read, but I’ll leave you with this. Blue lily, lily blue, and indeed the entire Raven Cycle, is a story which is so completely different from anything I’ve ever read before that I can’t find one other story similar to it. It is unique. I am so glad I gave it a chance and I hope you do to. You won’t regret it, I promise. There is something in this story for everyone, whoever you are and whatever you like. It’s with a heavy heart that I look forward to September and the release of the last installment in The Raven Cycle – The Raven King.