Divergent

I heard about this book a while back, and it has been lying next to my bed waiting for me to pick it up. As you probably know by now, I don’t read a book unless I want to read it, unless I really feel like picking it up and dive right into the story. So I let it lie there for quite a sometime before I decided that now was the time, and then I picked it up a few days ago. There is a reason why I do this, why I don’t force myself to read a book just because. It’s very simple really, it’s because when I read the book, I want to feel like I want to read it, not that I have to just because it’s in my book pile next to my bed and it has been there for a long time. So when I started reading Divergent a few days back, I knew I had done the right thing by waiting for me to really want to read it. First then can I fully devote myself to the book and read, read, read. That’s just what happened. However, I do think the skill of Veronica Roth had something to do with my eager to finish the book as soon as possible. It’s her debut and it’s a good one.  She’s a really great writer who has the skill to write so that the reader just sucks right into the story and when you’re in, you never want to leave. It took me about three days to finish the book, which is nearly on five hundred pages. All I could think off when I was off doing something else, was the book and how I would just curl up in the couch or in my bed when I got home, so I could read even more. It is something very special when you read a book that’s so good, a book you never want to lay down, a book that you priorities over everything else.

Divergent is a story set in the future about a sixteen year old girl named Beatrice, later Tris, who lives in a world where people live in different factions according to their personalities. At the age of sixteen you have to go through something called an aptitude test, which will tell you which faction you fit in. But you choose yourself the day after the test, on the Choosing day. As I said earlier, the factions are different and you’ll choose which on you want to join according to your personality. There are five factions; Amity (the peaceful), Erudite (the intelligent), Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless) and Dauntless (the brave). When choosing a faction, most people choose the one they were born into (in Beatrice case, Abnegation), but there are faction transferors as well. If you would choose a new faction, you cut your strings to your family, as they say in the book “Faction before blood”. When it’s Beatrice turn to choose on Choosing day, she surprises both her family and herself with her choice. Afterwards she and the other sixteen year olds in her faction have to learn about it and pass two tests on three stages before you officially are a member of the faction. Those weeks are the most exciting yet terrifying weeks of Tris life. However, she is so focused on her work that she has no idea what’s happening around her. On the cover of the book I have at home, it says “She turns to face the future in a world that’s falling apart” and it couldn’t be more right.

I finished reading the book late last night but just talking about it now makes me want to reread it again right away. It’s such a different book compared to what I usually read, however, I have heard a lot of people saying that Divergent is similar to The Hunger Games, something I can’t say I see. The only thing connecting the two books are the fact that both take place in the future and show the reader a horrible version of what might come. Even if both books are very exciting and thrilling, I have to say that I do think Divergent is a little better. Maybe because I just read it and I’m still so spellbound by it, maybe because The Hunger Games has become something so big and I don’t like that whereas Divergent is still pretty unknown here in Sweden. Or maybe it’s simply because Divergent really is better, but in a different way. It’s hard to compare books that, when you think about it, are so different. But nevertheless, I find Divergent really wonderful and a great book to read when you want to escape your reality and jump right into something tense, nail-biting and breathtaking. It’s a book that really couldn’t be more me and I know I will read it again soon, again and again probably a few hundredth times. I know it might sound a little weird when I try to tell you what it’s about, but I didn’t know very much about it when I started reading and I fell head over heels for it. So try to keep an opened mind and I’m sure a few of you will love it just as much as I do.