The Trylle trilogy

I usually stumble upon books in strange ways and finding Amanda Hocking’s Trylle trilogy was no exception. I’m glad I did, though. To be honest, I wasn’t really sure what to expect at first and when I started reading Switched, the first book, but I can promise you that I wasn’t prepared for Wendy, the seventeen year old girl tired of her high school life to change into Wendy, the Princess of the Trylle; a troll society. It sounds quite strange when you blurt out what the books is about, like I just did, but when reading it, it all seems so very believable.

All three books are based on very strong characters. We have the main character, Wendy. As I mention, she is a seventeen year old girl how doesn’t really feel like she fits into her world. When she was six her mother tried to kill her, believing that Wendy isn’t her real child and since then her brother and aunt have raised her. In the first book Wendy meets a strange guy in her school, Finn, who tells her the truth about who she really is. A troll princess born to rule the kingdom Förening. Wendy follows Finn to the kingdom and there her new life evolves. She meets her real mother, the cold, cool Queen. As the book continues, Wendy learns that the Vittra, another troll society, wants her to join them instead and the try to kidnap her multiple times. This is how Wendy meets Loki, a mysterious, handsome Markis (which is something like a duke). As her life as Princess wobbles and sways her private life evolves, meeting so many new people and she can’t be sure who she can trust.

The entire series is fast-paced and exciting. Each book is better than the former. Amanda Hocking has writing it in such way that you sweep through the pages without even noticing how much you’ve read and what time it is. At time, they’re nail biting, at time, they’re sweet and at time, they’re funny. Most of the characters are likeable and all of the dialogs are fluid and intensive.

I will continue on what I said when I reviewed Switched; these books aren’t what I would call “fantastic literature”. It lacks something which would make the books something to remember forever. They aren’t deep and filled with thoughts over the universe and what happens after death, but they do have something that a lot of books lack. They have an interesting story with wonderful characters and that’s really important too. All three novels are books where you flip through the pages fast because you want to know what’s going to happen.

During the last book, I felt reluctant to continue reading because I didn’t want it to end. I knew that when I was done with it, I would never have the pleasure of reading it with that same excitement again. Though, despite that, it’s one of those series that I will reread multiple times since it makes one escape the real world for a little moment and sometime, you really need to have books like that in your bookcase.

I did, however, find the ending to the series a bit too much. I can’t tell if it’s because I already figured everything out or if it just was too sweet. I would have liked something darker flying through the last pages, but then again, I prefer when not everything will work itself out. This was a bit too much sunshine, live happily ever after and so on. I guess it can be because the series probably fits better with someone a few years younger than my twenty years. In any way, it’s a really good trilogy, where each book just gets better and better, which usually isn’t the case. Often, but not all the time, the first book in a trilogy is the best one. Here, I’m not sure. The first was great but the second was better. But the third contained the last shattering moments before everything burst into flames so that kind of weight up the too-sweet-for-me ending.

Kudos to Amanda Hocking though, for sucking me into the story like she did. It’s been a long time since I read something so intriguing and exciting as the Trylle trilogy.