The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby for me always felt like one of those classics that I just had to read, had to have on my bookshelf. I watched the movie during this past summer but it wasn’t until now that I finally read it. Some may say that I should have read the book first, but I’m not sure if I’d looked at the story any differently if I had.

Fitzgerald’s magical book that have captured so many readers, is a story told by Nick Carraway, set in the 1920’s New York. He lives on Long Island, next door to a strange man who has the loudest and craziest parties every weekend. Nick is invited once, to meet this strange man, Mr. Gatsby. They turn out to be good friends but Nick realizes quite quickly that Mr. Gatsby wants something, something that Nick can give him. A chance to meet Nick’s cousin, the beautiful Daisy, whom he met years ago and have been in love with ever since. During the years spent apart, Mr. Gatsby has been working toward reuniting with Daisy, who now is married but still love Mr. Gatsby. Nick finds himself in between them, trying to help them find their happiness while at the same time living his own life.

I very well can see why so many people have read this book and loved it so deeply. Now, I saw the movie first so I knew what was going to happened and it did take some of the fun away, but I did notices that the book and the movie aren’t very different at all. And while reading I still could feel the hot summer sun on my skin, the taste of gin on my tongue, hear the loud voices and laughs coming for the party, smell the warmth, the sun, the drinks, the food, the fresh clothes, the rain, the smoke. It was all so very much alive in the book and I think that’s a big part of why it’s so loved. Because it feels real. It’s a classic for a reason.