Scarlet

Usually when you’re wrong about something, you’re very wrong about it. Remember what I said when I reviewed Cinder, that I first didn’t want to read it because it was about a cyborg and I thought that would be too weird? Well I did read it and I hated myself for even thinking that and that annoyance only grew when I read Cinder’s sequel, Scarlet.

Scarlet Benoit lives in a small town in France with her grandmother and thinks her life is as normal as the next door neighbor. But when her grandmother suddenly is kidnapped, Scarlet realizes that secrets have been kept hidden from her all her life. Without any real help from the police, Scarlet goes searching for her grandmother, but the only one who seems to have any answers is Wolf, a street fighter who Scarlet doesn’t trust. Though he is the only one who can help her and Scarlet realizes she must take her chances in order to find her grandmother. At the same time in a different part of the world, Cinder is breaking out of prison to search for more answers about her past. But her escaping prison and leaving the Commonwealth sets emperor Kai in a troublesome situation with Luna Queen Levana, who wants Cinder executed about just as badly as she wants a marriage alliance with Kai. Cinder knows she has to do what she can to see to it that Kai and Levana never marries, knowing that that will be the end of the Commonwealth and probably the beginning of war. And then she meets Scarlet Benoit.

Marissa Meyer continues on the story about Cinder, Kai and the evil Luna queen, writing in the same light, fast paced, fun way as her debut novel. She has yet again taken an old fairytale and turned it into something new, though still with some details that reminds you of said fairytale which in this case is Little red riding hood. Like I said after reading Cinder, this is something that, if written wrong, can fail miserably. But, if written right, can be a huge success. And in this case, it’s the latter.

I could honestly sit here and praise Meyer for hours, because her story is excellent. There’s never a dull moment and even though it’s a lot darker and heavier than the fairytale, some lines and some characters just makes you laugh out loud. It’s just the right amount of seriousness and humor and old meeting new which makes for a real treat. I loved each and every word of Scarlet and though I tried hard to make it last for as long as possible, it did inevitable end. Now I very much look forward to the sequel and the next step for Cinder and Scarlet.