Red seas under red skies

Less than a year has passed since I first heard any mentions of Scott Lynch and his Gentleman Bastards series. During these ten months, I've read the first and second book twice and the third once. I decided to reread the series in anticipation of the fourth book, which is supposed to be out early 2015. Right at this moment, when I still have the third book to reread, it feels like the fourth can't come soon enough. And isn't it just the best feeling in the world, when you find a series you love so much that you actually ache for the sequel?

In this, the second part of the series, Locke and Jean has just left Camorr to seek new adventures. They end up in Tal Verrar, after a brief spell in Vel Virazzo, where they plan to bring out a really big score. For Locke to hear that what he intends to do is impossible only makes him want to do it even more. But as usual, there are people lurking around in the shadows who wants a say or two in Locke and Jean’s life. They have to tread very carefully, so as to not break everything they’ve worked so hard for during the last two years.

I’ve said it before and I will say it again. The Gentleman Bastards series is amazing. Scott Lynch is amazing. He creates a whole new world for the reader to dive into and you gladly do, because the world in which Locke and Jean lives is so different from how life looks like today, yet feels so very real and believable. The first book, The Lies of Locke Lamora, was wonderfully written and so full of events that it will make your heart beat faster, never knowing who will survive and who’ll end up getting his throat slit. Red seas under red skies was even more action packed, practically filled to the brim with plots and side-plots and so much action and intricate schemes. Some may say there’s too much happening, but I love that there’s always things going on, even though you don’t always understand them until afterwards. I believe this is a series that most people would like, if only they gave it a chance. I know for a fact that I will never regret the day I picked up my copy of The Lies of Locke Lamora and I eagerly await the fourth book.