The Night Circus

This has become something of a classic in my little library, a novel I've read every October since it was first published four years ago. I quite like reading it once a year, since it's a favorite of mine, and October is a great month to do it in since it's a month that means a lot to the story itself. If you've followed me for a while you've probably already read my review of this novel but if you haven't, keep reading to know all the reasons for why you should pick up The Night Circus and why you'll never regret reading it.

The circus of dreams, it's called, the mysterious and magical Night Circus that appears overnight, out of nowhere, and disappears just as quietly and without a trace. Like it was never there in the first place, like all your memories of it is only a dream. But the Night Circus is real and it's the venue of a very intricate competition in the art of magic. The two competitors, Celia and Marco, has been bound together for many years now and they've prepared for the game even longer. But it's not until the Night Circus sees its light that the actually competition begins. Not many people, neither outside or inside the Circus itself, knows about the competition. They fall in love with the Circus because it's a respite from a boring, mundane life and offers everything you can dream and imagine in one spectacular experience. But what happens to the venue when the game is about to end?

I've loved The Night Circus since the first time I picked it up. Author Erin Morgenstern has created everything I ever wanted and the only thing I dislike with this book is the fact that the Circus isn't actually real. Every part of the novel is magnificent, from the interesting and intricate characters that moves the story forward to the Circus itself. You can smell the caramel, the bonfire, the cinnamon treats and the perfume of the other Circusgoers while you read. It's really like you're walking around in the Circus yourself and not many novels can create a world as realistic as this.

Unlike many books, this is one that spans out over many years. It's told in third person and alternate the point of view to suit the reader, so that you can get the most out of the novel. Every chapter starts with a name, a place, a month or sometimes a date as well as a year, making it easy to follow along in the story and not get confused where you are. You get to see parts of Celia and Marco's pasts and how the Circus came to be before a large portion of the novel is spent in the Circus while it travels around the world. Between chapters are smaller poems about the wonders in the Circus, making it feel even more real and believable.

This is my fourth time reading this novel now and I am still surprised at the new things I notice when I read. It's a book so full of amazingness that you can't possibly take it all in the first time you read and, I hope, never. To read this novel every October is something I actually long for months in advance and I really believe that this is a book for everyone. Pick it up, dive in and be amazed. This is an extraordinary novel and it remains one of my favorites.