Rec of the month - May 17


While my reading slump continues, I thought I would try something new and open up a new category here, like the title called Rec of the month. Every month I'll recommend one book that I like and/or feel should get more attention. First of is none other than one of my favourite novels from last year (well, I read it last year but it was published in 2015), A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas! This is a retelling of “Beauty and the Beast”, a very popular novel and the first in a series that started as a trilogy but was later expanded to six books. My full review can be found HERE.

Feyre is a nineteen-year-old huntress providing for her family after they lose their money. But out on a hunt one day, Feyre kills a beast that managed to slip through the wall separating Feyre’s home, the mortal land and the immortal land where magical creatures such as High Fae lives. As punishment for this crime, Feyre is given the choice of being killed or agreeing to leave her home to live out the rest of her life in the immortal land. That’s how Feyre ends up living in Tamlin’s home. He is a man that can turn into a beast and he is very powerful but he is also cursed. It’s a curse that will doom not only the immortal land but the whole continent and possibly the entire world. A curse that needs to be broken soon because time is running out and Feyre is the last hope. But is she willing to save the creatures in the immortal land when they’ve only ever wanted to hurt her and her world?

I fell in love with this story and I hope you will too. I think it’s great in every way; it’s fun, packed with action and romance and lovely friendships. It’s about a strong woman becoming stronger, fighting not just for a man, but for the world. It lays the groundwork for what I think will turn into an intense series. If you find yourself falling in love with this story, good news! The sequel, A Court of Mist and Fury came out last year and the third book, A Court of Wings and Ruin was published just a few days ago.